This was a delicious Vegan offering from South Africa last year.
The thought of going to the Epcot International Food and Wine Festival should inspire feelings of excitement, but for some, it brings dread. Dietary, monetary and ethical eating restrictions can make eating in public challenging. However, with some preparation, everyone can have fun.
Your first step is to find out which menu items are being offered. A good food blog, like Disneyfoodblog.com, will provide you with prices and pictures as well as a description. If you are limited on funds, then this is a great way of deciding which items to spend your money on. For those with dietary and other restrictions, we have a couple of more steps.
Check out the dishes you’re curious about on Food.com. Not only will you get their recipe along with specific ingredients, but they also have a complete nutritional breakdown with calories, fat and sodium content. However, some recipes might differ from those used at Disney so make a list of those you want to try and take it with you. Then, before you order, ask that particular vendor about specifics. This is particularly important if you want to know if the ingredients are grown locally or whether the coffee is fair trade certified.
Disney does mark vegetarian dishes with a large green V although most vegetarian dishes are not Vegan and last year, only two dishes were Vegan. Most of the drinks would be acceptable and if in doubt, Sunshine Seasons at The Land always has fresh fruit, soy yogurt and vegan potato salad among other offerings.